Library Interview: Emma Norris

We not only have newly renovated library spaces this year, we also have new personnel joining us here at Schewe Library! As part of our library interview series, it is our great pleasure to introduce our new Access Services Manager, Emma Norris, who replaced Liz Potsch over the summer. We are glad she has joined the team!

http://www.warmowskiphoto.com

Who are you, what is your title, and how do I get in contact with you?

Hello! My name is Emma Norris and I’m the Access Services Manager here at Schewe Library. I’m always happy to answer your questions – feel free to send me an email (emma.norris@ic.edu), call my office number (217-245-3264), or drop by the Circulation Desk (weekdays before 4:30pm).

How long have you been at IC, and what led you here?

I started at IC in July. I recently completed my master’s degree in Library and Information Science and I was drawn to the great work happening at Schewe. I’m very happy to be here 🙂

What do you do at Schewe?

Everything I do at Schewe supports access to library materials. My primary duties include overseeing the daily operations of the circulation desk, keeping patron accounts in good working order, maintaining the library stacks, collaborating with faculty on course reserves, and processing I-Share requests.  I also supervise our wonderful team of student workers.

Any exciting initiatives you’ve got planned in the next little while?

I’m currently aiming to make the Circulation Desk more welcoming & user-friendly. The cumbersome wooden dividers are gone and there’s dual monitors in their place. Getting assistance at the Circulation Desk will be easier than before and save everyone from unnecessary neck strain.

Tell our readers something interesting/exciting/unusual about you…

I have a pet duck named Ben Aflac. Sometimes he accompanies me on kayak rides around my family’s pond.

Leave a Reply

